Board of Trustees

The Albany Presbytery has a board of seven trustees comprised of both ruling and teaching elders. Collectively these officers have a fiduciary duty. What does that mean? A fiduciary duty is a legal duty to act solely in another party’s interests.  In this case we act as a body to look after the financial and legal affairs of the presbytery with an obligation to act in a way that looks after the long term interest of the larger church. Much of our work is helping churches reconcile what they want to do with what is permitted under New York state law, the PCUSA Book of Order, and, where donated funds are involved, donor intent. A hallmark of Presbyterianism is doing things “decently and in order” and our goal as trustees is to facilitate change in a way that conforms to this spirit.

Current Members of the Board of Trustees:

President: Ruling Elder Carl Hasselbarth, Esq., Hamilton-Union Guilderland

Vice-President: Teaching Elder Donna Elia, Minister, Hoosick Falls

Class of 2020

  • Carl Hasselbarth, Ruling Elder, Hamilton Union Guilderland
  • Stephen Brown Minister, Ruling Elder, Spencertown 

Class of 2021

  • Donald Drew, Ruling Elder, First United/Troy
  • Ruth Pierpont, Ruling Elder, Lansignburgh

Class of 2022

  • Donna Elia, Minister, Hoosick Falls
  • Vacant
  • Vacant